Saturday, October 23, 2010

Time for a rant!!


Okay so a bar owner kept serving a patron after he was drunk, then that patron got in his car, hit and killed a cyclist, and ran away just to compound it.
The bar had no Certificated bar manager in attendance at the time as it is legally required to do.  (click the link for the full story)

And what is the penalty for the bar?
A massive fine?
Loss of License?

NO.

The only penalty that appears to have been given is that the bar must close for 3 days.
And get this - the 3 days don't occur until November and they are a Tue/We/Thu span.

The thing that I am really pissed off about is the huge publicity around the "bad drinking culture" we have in NZ.
And with all the targetted advertising, the requirements for Managers Certificates and Licenses, the Liquor Licensing Authority has come across as a gutless, toothless wonder.

This is less than a slap on the wrist for a huge breach of license requirements and social responsibility.

I drink.  I like to drink.  I go to bars. I don't believe the drink/drive limits need changing.

What does need to be done is for existing laws and responsibilities to be enforced.
This bar should have been forced to shut immediately for at least 7 days.
Oh wait - they would have lost a weekend of trading, they would have had disruption to their business, they might have lost some food that was in the fridge.  
Should I get my violin out now??
So bloody what?!  
I know the bar owner did not kill the cyclist.
But if the bar owner had followed the rules, had been a responsible host and prevented the driver getting as drunk as he did, that cyclist would likely still be alive today.
Make the bar owner bay a heavy price - maybe then we will everyone taking the right kind of notice!

I'm stepping back down off my high horse now.




1 comment:

  1. I thought it was a soap box you were on but I agree with you!

    ReplyDelete